Posted by & filed under Men's Basketball, Missouri Valley.

mvclogoColt Ryan’s nomination to the all-Missouri Valley Conference first team highlighted UE’s presence in the league awards announced Tuesday.

Along with Ryan’s first-team honor, D.J. Balentine (8.1 ppg) and Egidijus Mockevicius (5.4 ppg, 4.8 rpg) took places on the MVC’s all-freshman team. Senior Troy Taylor also landed on the all-defensive team for the second year in a row.

Creighton junior Doug McDermott repeated as the MVC’s Player of the Year, receiving 35 first-place votes of the 36 possible, as the Bluejays’ contingent couldn’t vouch for him. Ryan earned four and Carmichael one.

The all-conference and specialty teams are assembled by the league’s media, sports information directors and coaches.

Ryan, who averages 20 points per game and a league-leading 25.6 per contest since Feb. 1, will soon wrap up a career that’s seen him earn a number of other conference honors: the league’s scholar-athlete of the year in 2012 along with first-team all conference; second-team all-conference as a sophomore; and the MVC’s freshman of the year in 2010.

“He was thrown into the fire four years ago and he was playing big time minutes,” said coach Marty Simmons. “We were building around him, and he’s just a junkie with basketball and film and improving himself. The guy’s a competitor. he loves to play, and he’s done — as I’ve said many, many times — he’s done so much for our basketball program. Any accolade or award that he receives, he certainly deserves.”

All-bench and most-improved teams — voted on by the league’s 10 beat writers — will be announced Wednesday. The MVC’s Coach of the Year banquet is set for Thursday in St. Louis.

(View the full awards in PDF form here.)

2013 All-Missouri Valley Conference Men’s Basketball Team

First Team
Jackie Carmichael, Illinois State
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Jake Odum, Indiana State
Colt Ryan, Evansville

Second Team
Tyler Brown, Illinois State
Carl Hall, Wichita State
Anthony James, UNI
Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley
Ben Simons, Drake

Honorable-Mention Selections
Malcolm Armstead, Wichita State
Anthony Downing, Missouri State
Gregory Echenique, Creighton
Grant Gibbs, Creighton
Desmar Jackson, Southern Illinois

All-Newcomer Team
Malcolm Armstead, Wichita State
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Desmar Jackson, Southern Illinois
Marcus Marshall, Missouri State
Tyshon Pickett, Bradley

All-Freshman Team
D.J. Balentine, Evansville
Anthony Beane, Southern Illinois
Joey King, Drake
Marcus Marshall, Missouri State
Egidijus Mockevicius, Evansville

All-Defensive Team
Jackie Carmichael, Illinois State
Gregory Echenique, Creighton
Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley
Troy Taylor, Evansville
Dyricus Simms-Edwards, Bradley

Leave a Reply